Standing Tall in The Face of Adversity

I can still hear her voice in my mind as if she just spoke to me yesterday. Brandon, if you live long enough you are going to face trials and tribulations. My mother was a bit of a realist I’d say. I appreciate her words now more than ever these days. It’s not hard to admit that life is full of ups and downs. The longer you occupy space on this planet, you will come against some sort of opposition at some point and that’s ok because we have what it takes to stand tall in the face of adversity.

 Standing Tall in the face of hard times does not mean you feel the absence of pain and fear. Standing tall is the ability to hold your position in faith and hope as you continue to move forward toward your destiny despite what opposition you may face. The path of greatness is not for the faint of heart. Anything in this world that is worth having is not going to be easy or quick. Some of the greatest pioneers this world has ever known have faced some of the greatest of obstacles.
When my mother passed away I was caught completely off guard. I just got married and was starting to settle into my groove as a new husband. Nothing could truly prepare me for what I was about to face just a short 2 months into my marriage. I still remember the day I received the call. On the outside I tried to appear strong as my wife asked me what was going on, but on the inside I crumbled. Behind closed doors, I prayed for strength because I knew I would have to face the reality that I lost my mother to Pancreatic Cancer. This moment challenged me greatly.
In my moment of weakness I found my strength. My strength was found in the love and support of those around me. There are always small subtle reminders all around us that will whisper everything is going to be alright. It doesn’t matter how grim the situation appears. There will always be a soft reminder from God. I rallied behind the support of my wife as I moved forward in dealing with my mothers burial preparations.
I was determined to be strong for my wife and my younger sister. In fact, I had to be strong. There was no other option in my mind and what made matters even tougher was the physical absence of my father who promised me he would be there to help and support in that time of need. He was no where to be found. Moments like that require you to dig deep within. No matter what you may face today, you have the power to stand tall.
Today I want you to find a quiet place and reflect. Think about what has been going on in your life recently. If there has been a challenge think about how you can stand tall in that situation. Look for the silver lining and listen to the still small voice on the inside that is peacefully reminding you that it is well. Close your eyes and feel strength running through your core as you choose to stand tall and face whatever situation you may be currently dealing with. Most of all remember you are powerful. You are much stronger than you think.
2 thoughts on “Standing Tall in The Face of Adversity

  1. Beautifully written. I recently lost my mother and I hear her words over and over. Advice I took, advice I didn’t take but should have…
    Your words to “reflect” hit home. It’s something we don’t do enough. But after reading this, I will be much more mindful of how important that is. Thank you writing this. Please know that it helped someone tonight. God Bless you.

    Like

    1. Loe, Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you found value in my words. I felt led to write this in hopes that my own internal dialogue would help someone. Please share this entry and please stop by often as I will be releasing more 🙂 Bless you also

      Like

Leave a Reply

