Finding Peace In The Middle Of The Storm

Last year was a really trying time for my family. The funny thing is, 2015 started off with an incredible bang. Danielle and I were preparing for our wedding. We were having the time of our lives. We were cake testing, venue shopping and just really enjoying what was about to come next. My mother beamed with joy as she looked for the perfect dress to wear for our special day. Nothing however could prepare us for the shock that was to come. My mother was diagnosed with cancer literally two months before the big day. Not only was she diagnosed with cancer but she was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer which often times is very aggressive and fatal. My whole world was rocked. This was supposed to be the happiest time of my life. Why did this have to happen? Why me? I asked. Why did this happened to happen to my mother? Life happens to us all and sometimes it happens at the worst times. Even if the storm comes, you can have peace in the middle of the storm. I am talking about the peace of God. That is the only peace that will sustain you as you walk through your storm. That is the peace that helped me get through.

1954_hurracaine_hazel-lowres

My mothers health deteriorated very quickly as my wedding day approached however she was determined to be there. She opted to have special surgery that would allow her to receive nutrients through a discreet bag that she could hide in her gown. Nothing would stop her; Not even me. I said mom, I want you to start your treatment so you can get better. The night before my wedding she was in so much pain, that she had to go back to the hospital. Sure enough as the sun came up the next day she was back home smiling and ready for the big day. God gave her peace and strength that day. She looked perfect. You could not even tell she was sick. Her smile that day was bright because God blessed her with the chance to be there. That’s what she wanted. The Peace that God gives no man, job, sickness or situation can take away from you. If you are going through a tough time today I want you to know that things will get better. I want you to know you don’t have to worry. Have faith and believe that peace of mind can be yours even if everything around you may appear to be falling apart.

sunshine_through_the_rain1

 

There is always sunshine after the rain. Trouble doesn’t last always. It’s easy to forget that storms cannot rage on forever. All storms eventually lose steam and dissipate. Hold on to your faith because the test and trials in life will only make you stronger. Today, I want you to allow yourself to feel the calming peace that God gives. Slow down and take a step back from whatever the situation may be. Take a deep breath and leave it with the Lord. It will truly be alright. You will look back on your storm and you find that it wasn’t as tough as you thought. You will laugh because you will truly see that you are stronger than you thought. 

  

Leave a Reply

