Excercising Self Discipline

Discipline, is surely everyones favorite word right? Insert sarcastic grin. No seriously discipline is the one word that reminds us of the last scoop of ice cream we shouldn’t have eaten or the paper for class we promised ourselves we would write today but chose again to say I’ll do it tomorrow. Or I know I should exercise today but I’ll do it tomorrow because I don’t feel like it. Self discipline is one of the most powerful skills you can develop. People who continually give in to the desire to put things off build their own roadblocks to success and ultimately live a life full of continual regret.  

procras   

How many times have you said I’ll do it tomorrow? Think of how it feels when you make that decision. It feels so good to put something off for another day, doesn’t it? I can’t even count how many times I did this very same thing in school. Thats probably why I failed math 2 times in a row in college. However just like me you will later come to regret the decision to put things off. We have all been at that cross road. I still definitely procrastinate at times but I made a promise to myself that I would embrace the art of self discipline. It really is an art form. It takes grit to hold yourself accountable. It takes power to put the credit card away. It takes incredible strength to order a salad instead of the delicious pasta. It’s not easy but it’s worth it.

discipline

Today make a commitment to develop habits that catapult you closer to completing your goals. The wonderful thing about discipline is when you put it into action you will see your life change immediately. Make a choice to be a person that is not ruled by their feelings. If you don’t feel like doing it, thats an even greater reason to do that which you know you ought to do. Make a declaration to no longer be like the masses who continually put things off. Remember you don’t want to just be good, you want to be GREAT!

 

 

Leave a Reply

